My daughter is mildly obsessed with Christmas lights, and I must admit that I am an enabler.  I’m a white light and garland kind of girl, but there is something fun about an absolutely tacky house.  It is dark so early these days that we are often in the car after the sun sets, and I’m constantly pointing out houses for her to check out.  I just love the intake of breath at each and every house.

Although she likes any kind of light display, I wanted to really blow her mind.  I asked our MOMS Club chat if they knew of any local displays that went overboard (in a good way).  I had some great responses.  The first that we checked out was 1610 N Abingdon St in Arlington.  It is fantastic!  You have to get out of the car to get the full effect.  There is a train set on the porch, a Santa and reindeer on the roof, and a tree with candy canes for the kids in the yard- plus tons more.  Totally over the top, but tasteful (a difficult combination).

Another mom posted about  Holly’s Tacky Christmas Lights.  Holly Zell, the creator of the site, takes pictures of the tackiest light displays in the area, primarily focusing on Fairfax County.   Check it out to see tons of addresses.

Here are some other “tacky” treats in the area- let me know if you know of any others!

 

  • 1713 N. Quebec St, Arlington
  • 5604 Hereford Ct, Alexandria
  • 5601 Hereford Ct, Alexandria
  • 8505 N Roosevelt St, Falls Church
  • 510 East Broad St, Falls Church